Love Story

Have I mentioned that I’m a hopeless romantic? I’m not particularly fond of how Romeo & Juliet‘s love story ended… Oh so, tragic! I had a similar story when I was younger. I’m not sure I want to share that on this post though briefly, that’s the reason why my Dad geographically separated me and my love, rather abruptly I’d say. I was in a long term engagement with my then, Mr. Right,  and I almost married him. He was the one that got away…the one  who I was talking about in “Love is a Risk“. We were in a long term engagement then a brief  LDR — and I’m not an LDR kind of girl. I just couldn’t handle it. I had to leave him. I gave it another chance but I just can’t.  That’s why I don’t want to take a chance on another LDR. 

th (27
We were not actually a Montague and Capulet but we were in a different  social class. I know it may sound weird but I came from a different generation where parents still ruled and made decisions on where you go to school/college, who you marry, who you hang out with, etc. . My father didn’t think my boyfriend can provide a life that  I was used to and my dear Papa thought I might end up miserable and the marriage might not work out. I thought we’d be fine on our own without his help but my dad had other plans. I was in my 20’s then and I never dated without a chaperone. Can you imagine? There was “courtship” then if you still know what that means… literally. A gentleman usually comes to a young lady with the intention of marrying her and you don’t usually get “intimate” until your wedding night. Nowadays, you just “date and see”. Oh, how times have changed. I guess I’m stuck… call me “old school” if you may.  😉
th (1).jpg

Juliet’s bronze sculpture

 Going back to my original story, I went to Verona with my friends last summer. We visited Romeo and Juliet’s houses. Casa di Giulietta  is one of the main attractions of Verona with the most famous balcony in the world. Every day crowds of people make their way through the narrow archway into the courtyard to admire and photograph the famous balcony.  And all this even though the two main characters never really existed and William Shakespeare never went to Verona in his lifetime. However, Verona is inextricably linked with the fate of the two lovers.

       

love-locks-at-casa-di-giulietta-img_0627_thumb

I didn’t realize they had love locks here, too. I thought they just had this in Paris. I didn’t buy a lock coz I had no one special at this point but once my soulmate shows up in the future, I’d love to hook that love lock at Pont des Arts in Paris .  😉

 

Unmarried people touch Juliet’s statue  in the fair city of Verona, Italy as a kind of good-luck ritual,  in the hope of finding the love of their life.  According to legend your luck with love will turn around once you rub the bronze breast of the Juliet statue.  

 

We spent time at Juliet’s house taking photos and buying memorabilias.  We also mailed a letter to Juliet for our friend. I’m not superstitious. I don’t believe in those things. But when we got back to the US she had a boyfriend almost immediately. They’re still together. It’s been almost a year. Back at Juliet’s abode, I  saw people lined up trying to get a photo next to her bronze sculpture while cupping her boob. Apparently, you have to make a wish related to your love life. I took a photo like that but didn’t make a wish. I wasn’t interested in  a relationship. But lo and behold, unbeknownst to me, something awaits me in Paris.
ce4578022a8d291758b0e7e1718d282b.jpg

 Then “Paris” happened. Don’t even get me started…  fast forward 12 months, my romance with my Frenchie is still is ongoing…   😉

So tell me… are you superstitious?
I don’t know about you, but I guess I’ll have to cup Juliet’s other boob next time I get back there…j/k  lol  😉

Grosses bises  ♥  Etoile

Leave a Reply

