WhatsApp Betrays Privacy Stance, Will Share Data With Facebook

I’m not due for another post but then I found this article on my phone, I was dismayed. I felt a sense of urgency that I just have to post this for my fellow LDR ladies. You see, I clicked “update” yesterday on my WhatsApp  without even paying attention. According to the article, WhatsApp betrayed its long standing commitment to privacy when it announced that : “WhatsApp will now start sharing user data with the company that owns it, Facebook.” … for the purpose of selling ads. Great!  But hold your horses… existing users have 30 days to “opt out”.  The article I’m talking about,  You Should Update Your WhatsApp Settings Right Now, by  William Turton. (Source: Gizmodo.com)

 

facebook-whatsapp

 

Here’s how you do it.

When prompted to accept the new privacy policy, tap the “Read more” tab at the bottom:

lhzsmiasoiudoluyffea.jpg

 

Then simply toggle the green switch off to opt out:

 

bxtv5janwxmthpgymkpn.jpg

If you missed the early warning message, don’t worry. There’s still another way to opt out. Go to Settings > Account > Share my account info, then simply uncheck the box:

yjfzrvjjo9j6jlai5vfa

 

That’s it! Facebook won’t share the full list of things it will be collecting from WhatsApp so it’s probably a good idea to opt unless you enjoy letting multi-billion dollar technology companies harvest your data to make more money from advertisers. 🙂

 

 

Grosses bises  ♥  Etoile

 

Leave a Reply

