It’s official… I am a Francophile.

I have not encountered the word francophile until I met my Frenchie and started learning about the French culture… or maybe since I met a lot of very nice French people when I finally traveled to France … much to my amazement as I have heard a lot of negative things about the French after years of living in America so I was pretty guarded when I went to France. I have heard about French arrogance from people who traveled to France and from comedians who thought it was a good material to add it in their skits.

My first stop was Lourdes and I just loved the French people I encountered during my 4 days there… they were very warm, friendly and accommodating, unlike the stuff I heard in the States so I told my friends about it and they said “watch til you get to Paris… they’re different, very rude and arrogant…” My friends travel a lot and have been to Paris several times so I figured they know what they’re talking about. So I thought I’ll find out when I get there. It was the exact opposite. In fact, my trip to Paris was serendipitous… I’ll tell you more about it in another blog.

I fell in love with Paris. I felt that the week I spent there wasn’t enough.  I did feel that Versailles was too overrated but I didn’t experience just chillin’ on the sides and riding a bike and  having a picnic… eating a baguette… enjoying my wine… I felt rushed. I didn’t appreciate the opulence of the place. I can’t wait to go back. My friends just wanted to go thru the motion… look around, take photos and go. I wanted to  stop, feel the breeze against my skin, smell the flowers, take a deep breath and take it all in.

I also have to say that I looove this guy… Cyprien Iov… — he’s soooo funny!!! Thank goodness for subtitles. I’m trying to learn to speak French but I don’t think I’ll be good until I actually immerse myself in that culture. But just watching his monologues and the funny $h!t he says about the US, Spain, Romania, etc…  and other things are just leaving me hysterical. And I bet he says some stupid $h!t about my favorite show The Walking Dead, too bad closed captioning is in French so I’ll have to slowly figure out how to translate it to English to finally get a kick out of his  vid clip.

Now, I even find myself arguing with the ignorant stereotypes that people say about the French. I hate it!!!  Am I defending the French in general or just my Frenchie? Who knows… am I now being more objective or am I seeing their side because of my FM?  I will know more as I learn more about French culture as as I figure out if it’s actually worth my time or if it’s a waste of time.  Though learning something new is always a good thing… ain’t that right!

TTFN!

Grosses bises  ♥  Etoile

Leave a Reply

