LDR… or je ne sais quoi???

So “Long Distance Relationship or Romance?” or just je ne sais quio… one of my girlfriends was arguing with me sometime in October that this was no LDR because we were thousands of miles away from each other and I never went out with him (in Paris). I turned him down and still refuse to see him when he offered to come and visit me here in the US because I’m not quite ready (still warming up). My argument was, it doesn’t matter that there’s that 5,000+ miles between us because a lot of people develop a relationship through the internet and I would like to see how this goes but for now I would like to stay friends and that is a relationship, hence, still an LDR.

ldr-5c58a5d2c46fb7621a4d0380694eee74

I decided to write about what exactly is an LDR…  for starters, we all know it stands for “long distance relationship”. I wanted to switch the R to “romance” just because… But what is it exactly? Is it an LDR if we haven’t really placed a “label” on this je ne sais quoi. coz we haven’t really… just coz we don’t want to… not just yet… “no pressure just pleasure” is kinda our thing. Well, I kinda like it for now.  Hmmm… doesn’t it sound like something a guy would say? 😉

 

First I’ll break it down…

LD = Long Distance.

Approximately 5,000+ miles of land and water separates us from each other. And the time difference doesn’t make it any easier.

distance-tumblr_o51w0i7z7a1vpeocfo1_500

 

Relationship means…

  • a connection, association,  or involvement  between individuals
  • an emotional,  romantic. or “passionate attachment between people
  • a romantic or sexual friendship between two people
  • the way in which two or more people or things are connected

 

Romance means…[ romauns, from Old French romans, ultimately from Latin Rōmānicus Roman]… (noun) 1. a love affair, esp an intense and happy but short-lived affair involving young people; 2. love, esp romantic love idealized for its purity or beauty; 3. a spirit of or  inclination for adventure, excitement, or mystery; 4. a mysterious, exciting, sentimental, or nostalgic quality, esp one associated with a place.

ldrw-ariel

 

I can tell you that it’s not going to be easy… even with the abundance of different options in tech communication that may bridge the gap. It takes a lot of work, consistency, commitment and  big time TRUST for it to work. I  still don’t trust the guy. I think he’s full of shit…. well, sometimes…   If he weren’t so HOT! lol  I think he’s either married with a wife who lives far from Paris or he has lots of girlfriends or maybe both.  😉   But this is just me being paranoid… he could also just  be single and emotionally unavailable.

ldr2

I found this article  on  “3 Things that make long distance relationships stronger“…  It’s very enlightening… and insightful…  as well as this one… “18 little ways you can tell in the first month that your relationship is actually going to last“…  I think this should help you decide if it’s worth investing your time and energy on this LDR before it’s too late.

Anyway, I feel that our connection is undeniable… there’s definitely something going on. We have started early on calling each other endearing names. The ambiguity of our “relationship” is quite unsettling at times but the excitement it brings is  off the charts. I have never met a man who has blown my mind and rocked my world without even touching the tip of my finger. The high I get from our skype sessions stays with me for weeks on end. Oh-em-gee!!! There is a god!!!

bed-tumblr_n752mxw6oq1tx3o64o1_500

 

La vie est belle, n’est-ce pas?

 

Grosses bises  ♥  Etoile

 

26 comments

  1. Pingback: Roller Coaster Ride | myldrwithafrenchman
  2. Pingback: Last Tango in Paris | myldrwithafrenchman
  3. kutukamus · August 13, 2016

    The pressure might have just been coming.. in one or another way 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Etoile 75005 · August 13, 2016

    Hi Kutukamus… your comment is a little ambiguous. I’m kinda scared to ask what you mean. 😉

    Like

  5. Pingback: Love is a Risk… | myldrwithafrenchman
  6. Grandtrines · September 6, 2016

    Reblogged this on Still Another Writer's Blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Success Inspirers' World · October 26, 2016

    I think one can enjoy long distance relationship without needing to ever meet each other. I want to have as many long distance intimate friends as I can. I like to contribute to their happiness by making them know they have someone who loves them, cares about them, will support them morally when they are down and will celebrate success with them. The idea of sexual relationship is out of the question in my long distance relationships. As a married man who has taken an oath of fidelity, I cannot cheat on my wife. Some of my long distance friends are also married women who are expected to be faithful in their marital relationship. We will lift each other to the highest level where we each feel loved but it will not go beyond that.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sunshine · November 22, 2016

    Reading your blog sounds like the exact same story of myself involved in an LDR with a guy named Adam in Paris. I almost wonder if it’s the same person….stomach turning….🙃

    Liked by 1 person

    • Etoile 75005 · November 27

      Hi Sunshine.His name’s not Adam. (sigh of relief… for me that is… 😉 )
      Will you please describe him for me? I’m keeping my fingers crossed that he’s not the same guy or I’ll be torn.

      Like

  9. Pingback: Catfish | myldrwithafrenchman
  10. MichelleMarie · December 30

    I love this! I saw your comment on Paul’s blog and had to come see what you are doing and I love it. I know about the LDRs they are something else! I’m definitely warming to the idea in fact I’m sold! Good luck with yours! Blessings to you! Love your color choices on your blog! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Etoile 75005 · December 30

      Thanks so much! I love your blog, too… especially like the layout.
      Thanks for the follow… I followed you back. I hope to see you around.

      Like

  11. wandasncredible · January 3

    Reblogged this on Wanda D. Jefferson.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: Evolve | myldrwithafrenchman
  13. Pingback: Blogger Recognition Award – Quill & Parchment
  14. Pingback: A Flower in (Late) Bloom… how it all started… | myldrwithafrenchman
  15. Pingback: Serendipity | myldrwithafrenchman
  16. Daal · January 23

    as long as you’re having fun – that’s what matters most! the fact that you already met each other is a good thing. the most risky is when people don’t meet in person for a long time. I met my husband online, but met him quickly. otherwise, have had friends who end up with romances that are only in their minds

    Liked by 2 people

  17. nkdwhtguy · January 30

    This was interesting, and thought-provoking.
    “No pressure just pleasure” Hadn’t heard this before, sort of something between NSA or FWB or ?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Etoile 75007 · January 30

      Hi. Thanks for the feedback. You made me think about the meaning of NSA and FWB there… lol
      I agree it seems like that but the thing is we’re more like platonic so far. We have not dated since we met. And I’m too wishy-washy about this. My fear paralyzes me too much. Sooner or later I’ll have to decide, though he has not pressured me much since we have a date in mind when we’re going to see each other again. I just hope he doesn’t get tired of waiting or think I’m too flaky.
      You fininshed your sentence with or, I’m curious what’s the next word gonna be. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

